[RESOLVED] Software Distribution growing

Guest da sponge

Guest da sponge

We're running an internal WSUS server with GP pointing everyone to it. A few of my servers are having issues where Software Distribution grows and grows - with different results on servers from the exact same vmware template. Flushing is only a temporary solution - any ideas?

I posted it here because it's a Windows Update related problem and Dial-a-fix is a Windows Update jack of all trades fixer upper. I also thought DjLizard was generally interested in odd WU behavior, hence I posted here.

I'm always interested in odd WU behavior, and I tend to know more about this crap than everyone else anyway, so it's fine to post here for now. (Oh and Tarun - I know da sponge from Something Awful.)

The problem is though, that I only have experience fixing client computers not joined to a domain / using WSUS. I've never used WSUS before and it could be something simple causing this, but I would never know it since I don't have access to WSUS (yet). My boss is building a Win2k3 box soon and we'll be experimenting with WSUS, but until then, I literally know nothing about how it works or where it can go wrong.

What kind of stuff is in SoftwareDistribution making it grow? Logs? Patch files? DataStore.edb?

Have you kept a close eye on the Event Viewer of the afflicted machines for clues?

Edit: have you checked out %systemroot%\windowsupdate.log on the afflicted machines? I believe Windows still uses this log when doing WSUS updates.

Guest da sponge

I'm always interested in odd WU behavior, and I tend to know more about this crap than everyone else anyway, so it's fine to post here for now. (Oh and Tarun - I know da sponge from Something Awful.)