Jump to content

Gmail gets more user friendly with 37 new languages available


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

Gmail, the fastest growing email service on the Internet, provided by Google, revamped last autumn, is finally finding its way onto our computers in our own languages. Perhaps a herald needs some special training, I don’t think I was able to underline the importance of this new update the way a pro could have.

What’s so great about it? Well, aside from

the scoreless numbers of new people soon to embrace Gmail that were previously held at bay by their not knowing English all that well to use it, the update comes fully equipped with everything that was added so far. You know the way Google launches a product when it’s almost finished and then patches it as they go along? This is not the case, Gmail has all of its features translated and ready for use: colored labels, group chat, the rich emoticons, a new contact manager with a three-pane layout and some additional smaller features (i.e. shortcut keys, the ability to bookmark individual emails via the browser you’re using), to name only a few.

However, Robbie Stein, Associate Product Marketing Manager, writes on the Official Gmail Blog that "One side effect of this change is that it may disrupt some third-party Gmail extensions -- unsupported scripts that directly modify Gmail's code. If you don't use them, you don't need to worry about this. But if you do, we've contacted a number of the developers behind some popular extensions and many of them have updated their scripts, so make sure you're using the latest version or check back with them if you encounter any issues."

There are 37 new languages available: Arabic, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, UK English, US English, Ukrainian, or Vietnamese.

In order to select your favorite language, you just need to log into your account, click on the Settings button on top of every Gmail page and then choose it from the Gmail display language drop-down menu in the Language section. Don’t forget to hit the Save Changes button on your way out, and enjoy.

Source: Softpedia

Link: Lunarsoft Frontpage

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...