Master Hard Disk: S.M.A.R.T. Command Failed

krit86lr

I posted this on the CCleaner forum as well:

I was resuming Windows from hibernation, and I got a black screen that said

Master Hard Disk: S.M.A.R.T. Command Failed

Press F1 to Resume

I don't know what this means, but I think that it's really bad. I need my computer to last until August, but I think that this error has something to do with my HD failing. I am going to Google now, but if anyone has some knowledgable suggestions it will be much appreciated. I'm not very good at troubleshooting hardware.

Thanks

:P K

Hate to say this K, but it doesn't sound good.

S.M.A.R.T.

S.M.A.R.T. has the purpose of warning a user or system administrator of impending drive failure while time remains to take preventive action — such as copying the data to a replacement device.

Considering your current HD is only a 20 gigger, you can pick up something 4 times that for $40 or so. I would suggest backing up ASAP and looking into buying a new drive and starting over again.

I think you might set the record for installing Windows the most times in a year!

Hate to say this K, but it doesn't sound good.

S.M.A.R.T.

I did just download some things off of that site. I hope that I downloaded the right things.

Considering your current HD is only a 20 gigger, you can pick up something 4 times that for $40 or so.  I would suggest backing up ASAP and looking into buying a new drive and starting over again.

I was hoping that I could at least wait until the semester was over. But it sounds as though I don't have that long. :P I will backup tonight.

I think you might set the record for installing Windows the most times in a year!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That's for darn sure! :) I did a clean install of WinME in Dec(?), and a clean install of WinXP in Jan(?)....I'm over it!