Win xp pro ... Win Installer problems

Hotrossi

Hi, can anyone help me please? quite recently for the past month when I try to install any valid new programs like google earth or windows live etc, all I ever get now is the error message "This intallation package could not be opened, verify that the package exist and that you can access it" etc,etc, I have checked the Administrator rights etc, I have through "dial a fix" vers Vo.60.0.24" un reg'd & re Reg'd win msi installer, I have also downloaded win installer 3.1 again, to see if that would fix it, (it did not!) I have run various reg cleaners, spam, spyware and fixers etc. I have copletely unistalled MS Net Framework Ver1 & 2, as I thought the ASP.net might be causing the problem, I am now fresh out of Ideas, I am a complete newbie writing in a support forum before so forgive me if I have left anything obvoius out... many thanks, I run WinXp pro 64, AMD athlon 1600 proc, 1gb DDR. anyone who can give me some help it would be greatly appreciated.

• Administrator

Welcome to Lunarsoft, Hotrossi!

It sounds like your issues are stemming from Windows Installer. If you could, please rerun Dial-a-fix and select the MSI section. When that finishes running, click the Log button (paper icon) and post a log here for us to review.

When you attempted to install Windows Installer 3.1 did you encounter any error messages?

Dial-a-fix was not written with x64 Pro in mind. As a 32-bit program it is not allowed to access most critical parts of the OS (i.e., it can't fix your system). x64 Pro shoehorns 32-bit apps in by using a technology called WoW64 (Windows-on-Windows). WoW64 virtualizes 32-bit apps so that they can't write to the 64-bit registry or 64-bit System32 directory directly. Yes, it's confusing that WoW64 handles 32-bit programs and that the System32 directory is the 64-bit version. (Meanwhile, C:\Windows\SysWoW64 is the 32-bit System32. Whew!) Anyway, Dial-a-fix cannot not help x64 currently.